Talk to Silver Threads Group

The Silver Threads Group meets on the afternoon of the second Tuesday each month in At Andrew’s Hall in Chesterton. They usually invite a speaker and this time I had agreed to talk about the mayoralty and my year so far as Mayor.

Trusting that all the technology would work smoothly I set about making a computerised slide show. (I won’t call it a ‘power point presentation’ as I use Open Office software on my Linux based machine.) There was a bit of an anxious moment when it seemed communication between the laptop and the projector was faulty but it just turned out to be a matter of removing the lens cap from the projector!

It had been a bit of a scramble to get the pictures sitting nicely on the slides and the ordering wasn’t optimal but I think my audience found it quite entertaining. Next time (if any) I would do it a bit differently.

About Ian Nimmo-Smith

Mayor of Cambridge 2011-12
Gallery | This entry was posted in Communities, Public engagements. Bookmark the permalink.